Acknowledgements - NYC Mayor's Office of Climate and Environmental Justice
greeNYC logo
Executive Summary


Environmental justice advocates of all ages and backgrounds have been fighting for their communities for decades. We admire and commend their tireless efforts to make our city a safer, cleaner, and more equitable place to thrive.

New York City Mayor Eric Adams and the Mayor’s Office of Climate & Environmental Justice Executive Director Elijah Hutchinson would like to extend their gratitude to the city’s Environmental Justice Advisory Board (EJAB) members and all community stakeholder participants for committing their time, insights, and experience to the Environmental Justice NYC (EJNYC) Report and EJNYC Mapping Tool.

Established in 2019, the EJAB is composed of environmental justice leaders—advocates, academics, and subject matter experts whose expertise and leadership were fundamental to the report’s development. Our priority was to develop a collaborative resource that was truly reflective of local community needs and priorities. It is our belief that no one knows this city better than its community leaders.

Members of the New York City Environmental Justice Advisory Board:

Peggy Shepard, Chair
Co-Founder and Executive Director, WE ACT for Environmental Justice

Rebecca Bratspies
Professor of Law, CUNY School of Law

Shoshanah Brown
Founder, AIRnyc

Marco Carrion
Executive Director, El Puente

Dr. Luz Claudio
Professor of Environmental Medicine & Public Health, Icahn School of Medicine, Mt. Sinai

Costa Constantinides
CEO, Variety Boys & Girls Club of Queens

Omar Freilla
Co-Founder and Coordinator, Collective Diaspora

Diana Hernandez, PhD
Assistant Professor of Sociomedical Sciences, Columbia University’s Mailman School of
Public Health

Anhthu Hoang
New York City Resident

Albert Huang
Senior Attorney, Urban Program, Natural Resources Defense Council

Tina Johnson
Lifelong NYCHA Resident and Community Activist

Morgan Monaco
Executive Director, Red Hook Initiative

Beryl Thurman
Founder/Executive Director, North Shore Waterfront Conservancy of Staten Island