Green Jobs - NYC Mayor's Office of Climate and Environmental Justice
greeNYC logo
Take
Action
arrow

绿色工作

拥抱绿色经济的机遇。

该市到 2050 年实现碳中和和适应气候影响的工作将促进经济活动,在我们改造能源系统、改造建筑、创新绿色生产方式和保护居民免受环境危害时,为绿色经济开辟机遇。纽约市致力于通过高薪工作和熟练的劳动力来发展绿色经济,采取措施让纽约人为从事有意义的工作做好准备——通过培训计划和通往绿色工作的途径。

提高弹性

自 2015 年以来,NYC CoolRoofs 为纽约人提供安装节能反光屋顶的带薪培训和工作经验。该计划由纽约市和 HOPE 计划合作开展,其年度目标是安装 100 万平方英尺的凉爽屋顶,并在整个过程中让当地业主、社区合作伙伴、劳动力培训组织和志愿者参与进来。截至 2021 年秋季,已安装超过 1100 万平方英尺的凉爽屋顶,该计划已培训 300 多人。

支持提高效率的工作

自 2014 年以来,该市已对数百名纽约人进行了能效、建筑运营和维护方面的培训,这既促进了未来行业专业人士的发展,又以现场培训为契机确定和启动能效项目。截至 2021 年秋季,免费的实践培训已经覆盖了为数百座建筑服务的 1,000 多名建筑工作人员。

该市的绿色经济也得到了建筑能源交换 (BE-Ex) 的支持,该中心是一个卓越中心,致力于通过改善建筑环境来减少气候变化的影响。 BE-Ex 作为建筑行业的资源和值得信赖的专家,支持技术示范和可操作的研究,并作为联合国国际高性能建筑卓越中心。自 2014 年以来,在纽约市加速器和市长气候与环境正义办公室等伙伴组织的支持下,BE-Ex 已向超过 35,000 名建筑决策者提供了 1,000 多项培训和教育计划,并在纽约接待了 90 多个伙伴组织交流,激发集体行动,为每个人创造一个更健康的建筑环境。

支持海上风电工作

为了加速海上风电行业的发展,纽约市与纽约州和 Empire Wind 的合作伙伴一起,致力于将日落公园的南布鲁克林海运码头装备起来,作为在三州地区安装、安装和运行涡轮机的新枢纽。该市还制定并发布了一项为期 15 年、$1.91 亿的海上风能愿景计划,使纽约市走上创造 13,000 个绿色工作岗位的道路,产生 $13 亿美元的年均投资,并确保 40% 的收益用于弱势社区.该计划支持清洁风力发电的发展,这将减少相当于近 500,000 辆汽车停驶 15 年的排放量。

支持太阳能工作

教育部 (DOE) 与 Solar One 合作开展两个项目,支持公立学校的气候教育和与气候相关的劳动力发展机会:

  • NYC Solar Schools Education Program 为所有 DOE 教师提供强大、免费的专业学习,让他们做好准备,将与气候相关的教育内容融入所有年级的课堂。截至2022年6月,已有近1125名教师参与!
  • 太阳能职业与技术教育 (CTE) 计划目前在 14 所 CTE 高中开展,旨在让学生接触太阳能行业,让他们亲身体验太阳能装置和清洁能源技术,并帮助他们为专业认证和就业做好准备。
  • 可持续发展办公室还在 2022/23 学年举办了第五届青年领导委员会,以便全市的高中生可以参与气候变化和气候正义的关键话题。他们的气候教育领导团队已进入第三个年头,与 40 名教育部教师合作,带领全市其他教师将气候教育纳入课程和教学。

促进创新

New Lab 的城市技术中心(如图)提供 84,000 平方英尺的负担得起的工作空间、试点机会和指导,以支持从事城市技术解决方案(例如城市农业和电动汽车技术)的企业家。

经济发展公司 (EDC) 承诺在 10 年内投入 $720 万美元资助 Urbantech NYC——由 New Lab and Company 开发的两个城市科技“走出去”空间,以支持为城市最紧迫的问题开发硬件和软件解决方案的创新公司城市挑战,包括粮食生产、供水和废物管理。这些中心激活了超过 100,000 平方英尺的空间、设备和定制项目,以支持 100 多家公司并创造了 1,100 多个高薪工作岗位。此外,超过 1,500 名学生通过实践劳动力发展得到了支持,20 多家公司获得了试点机会,初创公司获得了超过 $7 亿的投资资金。

2020 年 9 月,纽约市和加弗纳斯岛信托基金宣布了一项大胆的举措,以应对气候危机并巩固纽约市在公平气候行动方面的领导地位:在纽约港中心的加弗纳斯岛建立一个气候解决方案中心。气候解决方案中心致力于为纽约市和世界各地的城市做好应对气候变化的准备,将跨学科研究和创新、测试和开发以及教育和公众参与集中在一个物理中心。该中心预计将直接创造 7,000 个新工作岗位,并为纽约市带来近 $10 亿美元的经济影响。 2021 年 6 月,The Trust and the City 发起了一项全球竞赛,旨在寻找一所主力大学和研究机构作为气候解决方案中心的一部分。

采取行动

当我们将我们的声音、我们的行动和我们的倡导带到我们的学校、我们的家庭和我们的工作场所时,我们可以为以我们五个行政区为家的 860 万人创造一个更可持续和更有弹性的未来。

现在就采取行动

探索相关工作

Take action
Social and Economic Opportunities

Green Jobs

Embracing opportunity in the green economy.

The City’s work to achieve carbon neutrality by 2050 and adapt to climate impacts will generate economic activity, opening up opportunities in the green economy as we transform our energy system, retrofit our buildings, innovate green forms of production, and protect residents from environmental hazards. New York City is committed to growing the green economy with good-paying jobs and a skilled workforce, taking stepsto prepare New Yorkers for meaningful work – through training programs and pathways to green jobs.

Advancing Resiliency

Since 2015, NYC CoolRoofs has provided New Yorkers with paid training and work experience installing energy-saving reflective rooftops. The program, run in partnership between the City and the HOPE program, has an annual goal of installing one million square feet of cool rooftops, engaging local property owners, community partners, workforce training organizations, and volunteers throughout the process. As of fall 2021, over 11 million square feet of cool roofs have been installed and the program has trained over 300 individuals.

Supporting Building Efficiency Jobs

Since 2014, the City has trained hundreds of New Yorkers in energy efficiency, building operation, and maintenance, which both advances the development of future industry professionals and uses onsite trainings as an opportunity to identify and initiate energy efficiency projects. As of fall 2021, the free, hands-on trainings have reached over 1,000 individual building staff that serve hundreds of buildings.

The city’s green economy has also been bolstered by the Building Energy Exchange (BE-Ex), a center of excellence dedicated to reducing the effects of climate change by improving the built environment. BE-Ex accelerates the transition to healthy, comfortable, and energy- efficient buildings by serving as a resource and trusted expert to the building industry, supporting technology demonstrations and actionable research, and helping advance high performance buildings around the world as a founding member of the United Nations International Center of Excellence for High Performance Buildings. Since 2014, with the support of partner organizations, including the NYC Accelerator and the Mayor’s Office of Climate and Environmental Justice, BE-Ex has delivered more than 1,000 trainings and educational programs to over 35,000 building decision makers and has hosted over 90 partner organizations at the Exchange, spurring collective action to create a healthier built environment everywhere for everyone.

Supporting Offshore Wind Jobs

To accelerate the growth of the offshore wind industry, NYC, along with New York State and Empire Wind partners, committed to equip the South Brooklyn Marine Terminal in Sunset Park as a new hub for staging, installing, and operating turbines across the tristate area. The City also developed and released a 15-year, $191 million Offshore Wind Vision plan to put NYC on the path to create 13,000 green jobs, generate $1.3 billion in average annual investment, and ensure 40 percent of benefits are directed towards disadvantaged communities. This plan supports the development of clean wind power that would reduce emissions equivalent to taking nearly 500,000 cars off the road for 15 years.

Supporting Solar Jobs

The Department of Education (DOE) partners with Solar One on two programs that support climate education and climate-related workforce development opportunities for public schools:

  • NYC Solar Schools Education Program offers robust, free professional learning to all DOE teachers to prepare them to integrate climate-related educational content into classrooms across all grade levels. As of June 2022, nearly 1,125 teachers have participated in the program!
  • Solar Career & Technical Education (CTE) Program is currently in 14 CTE high schools to expose students to the solar industry, giving them hands-on experience with solar installations and clean energy technologies as well as help to prepare them for professional certifications and employment.
  • The Office of Sustainability is also hosting the fifth year/cohort of their Youth Leadership Council in the 2022/23 school year so that high school students citywide can engage in the critical topics of climate change and climate justice. Their Climate Education Leadership Team is in its third year, working with 40 DOE teachers to lead other teachers citywide to integrate climate education into curriculum and instruction.

Promoting Innovation

The Urban Tech Hub at New Lab (pictured) provides 84,000 square feet of affordable workspace, piloting opportunities, and mentorship to support entrepreneurs working in urban technology solutions, such as urban agriculture and electric vehicle technologies.

The Economic Development Corporation (EDC) committed $7.2 million over 10 years to fund Urbantech NYC—two urban tech “step-out” spaces developed by New Lab and Company to support innovative companies who develop hardware and software solutions to the city’s most pressing urban challenges, including food production, water delivery, and waste management. The Hubs activated over 100,000 square feet of space, equipment, and tailored programming to support over 100 companies and create over 1,100 good paying jobs. Additionally, more than 1,500 students have been supported through hands-on workforce development, more than 20 companies have gained access to piloting opportunities, and startups have generated more than $700 million in investment funding.

In September 2020, the City and the Trust for Governors Island announced a bold step to address the climate crisis and cement New York City’s leadership in equitable climate action: to create a Center for Climate Solutions on Governors Island in the heart of New York Harbor. Dedicated to preparing New York City and cities around the world for climate change, the Center for Climate Solutions will concentrate interdisciplinary research and innovation, testing and development, and education and public engagement in a single physical hub. The center is projected to create 7,000 direct new jobs and nearly $1 billion in economic impact for New York City. In June 2021, The Trust and the City launched a global competition seeking an anchor university and research institution as part of the Center for Climate Solutions.

Take Action

When we bring our voices, our action, and our advocacy to our schools, our homes, and our workplaces, we can create a more sustainable and resilient future for the 8.6 million people who call our five boroughs home.

Take Action Now

Explore Related Work